#Poem It’s Like I’m Not Really Here

~ ~ #Poem It’s Like I’m Not Really Here
~ main post here ~ http://ashleybovan.wordpress.com/2014/11/17/poem-its-like-im-not-really-here/
*

What with having had
a few days there
and then a daytrip
and, coming up,
nearly a week in a different place,
it’s like I’m not really here.

If I had volunteered
to be something hunted
then I wouldn’t have been still long enough
for them to spot me,
get my range,
take a shot.

When you’re going somewhere
you’re a moving target,
harder to hit,
but, sorry, Jack, I’m not just passing through:
this is my planet
as much as it is anyone else’s
and I can slow down,
dig in,
lie in wait,
unmoved for days, if necessary,
and then, at the right moment,
squeeze the trigger.

Or, I can stand
and walk,
or dance with you.

On cold nights,
I welcome your warmth,
but, like the space between atoms
things just pass through
I’m not really here.

About Ashley Bovan

I work at Poetry & Photography
This entry was posted in Photograph and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

